Sunday, September 7, 2008

Final Results: Roes, Nye Win 2008 Wasatch Front 100

Alaskan Geoff Roes won the men's race at the 2008 Wasatch Front 100 in a time of 20:01. Run on one of the toughest courses on the ultra circuit, the race was tight through the mid-point at Lambs Canyon, with a lead group of four (Andy Jones-Wilkins, Jack Pilla, Larry O'Neil, and Geoff Roes) but started to separate at mile 70 at Scotts Pass, where Roes opened a fourteen minute lead on Jones-Wilkins and about twenty minutes on Pilla, with O'Neil further back. Jones-Wilkins grabbed back five minutes by the next aid station at Brighton Lodge (mile 75), but that was as close as he'd get. He'd finish second in 21:31, with Pilla coming in third in 21:47.

Betsy Nye took the women's race in 25:36.

The Wasatch Front 100 takes runners from the start in Salt Lake City into the Wasatch range, with a total elevation gain of over 26,000 feet (race site).

1 comment:

Andrew said...

GO GEOFF!!! Talk about opening up a can of whoop arse in the final 25 miles there!!!